You

1. With grudges thin but miles wide,
You’ve always felt guilty and your temper flies.
Because a child unloved has a reason to rage;
Has it earned you any favor?
Did it ever make her change?

You lived your whole damn life holding on to the scorn
And the day she died was a day you mourned
Someday you’ll be slipping, and you’ll go where she went
Will you find peace then?
Will it help you repent?

2. With business dreams and your head in the sky,
You’ve always been rolling and you rolled on by.
Because a child unwanted has something to prove;
Did you ever get there?
Was he ever proud of you?

You gave your whole damn life holding on to the wheel,
And the day he died you were unwanted still.
And now you’re slipping, about to go where he went.
Has it all been worth it?
Is it worth one cent?

3. With choices now for me to make,
I hope I’ve learned from your mistakes.
Because a child who’s loved has a reason to rest;
Will I show this to my own?
Will I try to do my best?

I’ll live my whole damn life holding on to this hope,
And the days you die I hope it helps me cope.
Because someday I’ll be slipping, and I’ll go where you’ve went
It has to be worth it.
It has to be well spent.

Leave a Reply

